Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Event Chairs

Conference Co-Chairs

Bruce M. McLaren
Carnegie Mellon University
United States

Brief Bio
Bruce McLaren is a associate research professor at Carnegie Mellon University (USA). He is passionate about how technology can support education and has dedicated his work and research to projects that explore how students can learn with Internet-based educational software. He is particularly interested in intelligent tutoring systems, e-learning principles and collaborative learning and technology for supporting and analyzing collaborative argumentation. He has approximatey 200 publications spanning peer-reviewed journals, conferences, workshops, symposiums and book chapters. He has a Ph.D. and M.S. in intellige nt systems and an M.S. in computer science from the University Of Pittsburgh (USA), as well as a B.S. (cum laude) in computer science from Millersville University. ... More >>

James Uhomoibhi
Ulster University
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
James Uhomoibhi, a native born of Nigeria is an academic of strong international standing in Physics, Computing and Engineering. He has a first degree in Physics from Nigeria, a BPhil degree from Italy and moved to the UK where he completed his MSc in Optoelectronics and Optical Information Processing and a PhD in Laser Physics. Following his initial appointment as lecturer in Queen’s University Belfast he completed a PGCHET in Higher Education. Today he is at University of Ulster where he was Faculty e-learning coordinator (2004-2015) and now lectures in Engineering whilst researching in computer science and edu cation. He is a visiting Professor of Physics, Computer Science and IT in two Nigerian Universities. He is also a visiting Professor of Science, Technology and Environmental Studies at the Open University in Tanzania. James is a Chartered Physicist and a member of the Institute of Physics; He is a Chartered IT Professional and a Fellow of BCS and also a Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy. James Uhomoibhi is the African Laser Centre Representative in Europe and has served as Head of SEFI Task Force on European Cooperation with Africa. SEFI is the European Society for Engineering Education. He also sits on the Board of the International Network for Engineering Education and Research (iNEER). He is a member of Council of SEFI and of the BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT. James Uhomoibhi is a member of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee (DIC) and the International of the Institute of Physics (IoP). He is the founder and current Chair of the BCS e-Learning Specialist Group. In 2011 James Uhomoibhi was appointed a LEADS Scholar by the Nigerian National Universities Commission (NUC), charged with the responsibility of linking experts and academics in the Diaspora to the country. He is a recipient several academic and community awards including amongst others, the iNEER Global Achievement Award in Engineering Education (2011), Belfast Ambassadors Award (2012), BCS Long Service Award and the Distinguished Service Award of the Powerlist All Ireland African Leadership Excellence Award Programme, which he received in 2012. James Uhomoibhi very recently received the Sentinus Ambassador of the Year 2016 Award for outstanding works and contributions to STEM Education and Research Development and Implementation in Northern Ireland, UK. ... More >>


Program Co-Chairs

Mutlu Cukurova
UCL Knowledge Lab Institute of Education University College London
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
Dr. Mutlu Cukurova is Associate Professor of Learning Technologies at University College London, UK. His research focuses on the design, development and implementation of Artificial Intelligence and Analytics solutions to support human learning. Dr. Cukurova is engaged with UNESCO’s unit for Technology and AI in Education, UCL’s Grand Challenges on Transformative Technologies, is the chief research advisor at EDUCATE Ventures, an editor of the British Journal of Educational Technology and an AE of the International Journal of Child-Computer Interaction.

Nikol Rummel
Ruhr-University Bochum

Brief Bio
Dr. Nikol Rummel is a Full Professor and head of the Educational Psychology Lab in the Institute of Educational Research at Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany. She is also an Adjunct Professor in the Human–Computer Interaction Institute at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh,USA. Dr. Rummel was (2016–2017) president of the International Society of the Learning Sciences (ISLS). She is Associate Editor of the International Journal of Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning, and Editorial Board member of the Journal of the Learning Sciences, of the International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education, and of Learning and Instruction. Her research published in numerous journal articles and book chapters focuses on developing and evaluating instructional support for learning in computer- supported settings, with an emphasis on CSCL and on adaptive learning support, in particular. ... More >>

Denis Gillet
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

Brief Bio
Dr. Denis Gillet leads the Interaction Systems Group at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), where he is also a board member of the Center for Learning Sciences and affiliated with the Center for Intelligent Systems. He served as an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies and is a member of the IEEE Education Society Standards Committee. Dr. Gillet is the technical coordinator of a series of European initiatives in technology enhanced learning, such as Go-Lab, an innovation action for STEM education with online labs. He is also collaborating with international a nd non-governmental organizations for supporting digital capacity building in the global south. He is currently leading the Swiss Digital Skills Academy, a national initiative for promotion open educational resources and platforms. Dr. Gillet is the co-founder and the President of the Swiss EdTech Collider, an incubator for startups and nonprofit enterprises in digital education. He is also to co-founder and the President of the Association promoting digital education and open science solutions for social impact. ... More >>